Systems Engineering effectiveness monitoring

Project risks reduction for problem prevention

Optimization of the “Time-Cost-Quality” trade-off

Better reactivity with accelerated decision-making

System knowledge management to fine-tune predictive analysis models and project monitoring

SQUORE for Systems Engineering

Applied to Systems Engineering effectiveness, SQUORE is the ultimate dashboard for project teams, providing continuous and centralized overview along the 3 major axes of project performance monitoring:
• Meeting of delivery deadlines
• Adherence to Budgets constraints
• Quality of the achieved system

SQUORE helps action making by providing the details and trend of indicators related to these 3 axes: trade-offs between cost, time schedule and technical goals are optimized and justified by objective data. SQUORE solution for Systems Engineering performance is based on international concepts and standards:
• SEI : CMMI Capability Maturity Model Integration
• ISO/IEC 15939 Software Engineering – Software Measurement Process
• ISO/IEC 15288 Software and Systems Engineering — Systems and Software Engineering Life Cycle Processes
and most of all, the SE Leading Indicators Guide V2 issued in 2010 by the International Council on Systems Engineering INCOSE.


What is a leading indicator for Systems Engineering ?

A SE leading indicator is a measure allowing to evaluate how the effectiveness of a project activity is likely to affect system performance objectives (in reference to “Systems Engineering Measurement Primer” published by the INCOSE in 2010). A leading indicator may be an isolated measure, or a set of measures, which will be used for predictive correlations and for establishing trends.
For example, if requirements validation rate equals 20% a few days before functional requirements review, while their volatility exceeds 50%, this review shall be immediately postponed in order to avoid either process repetition (impacting on-time delivery) or team expansion to comply with time schedule (impacting cost).
INCOSE further recommends an exhaustive and regular collection of data involved in the production of SELI (Systems Engineering Leading Indicators), on a minimal monthly basis (or more during critical phases): implementing an automated and centralized solution is thus essential

Solution

SQUORE for Systems Engineering implements INCOSE SE leading indicators:

Unique double drill-down combined with powerful filtering allowing
> to focus on the performance of an aggregat or item within a hierarchy of artifacts produced by IS processes (requirements, tests, CR/PR, models, applications, documentation, review, cost…). Nonconformities and regressions are immediately detected (ambiguous requirement, non standard architecture diagram, pending change requirement, budget overruns,…).
> OR to focus on a specific indicator (or a combination of indicators) to understand and evaluate “how a specific project activity is likely to affect system performance objective”. For example, how Requirements volatility may affect functional suitability.
Analysis models based on international industrial standards (SQuaRE 2510, INCOSE SE Leading Indicators Guide,…), for easy monitoring and fair comparison of the progress and performance of project portfolios,on a regular basis or at key milestones.
Easier decision-making via a graphical and role-based user interface, with customizable charts according to in house or desired practices.
Automated generation of remediation and action plans aligned with predefined rules et triggers
Capitalization of project data to establish correlations between attributes (i.e test completion) and external characteristics(i.e reliability), and to refine predictive trend analysis for more accurate project monitoring.

Piloter la performance de l’Ingénierie des systèmes

Réduction des risques liés au projet

Optimisation du triangle coût/délai/qualité

Plus de réactivité par l’anticipation dans la prise de décisions

Capitalisation sur la connaissance des systèmes pour affiner les modèles d’analyse prédictive et le pilotage

SQUORE Ingénierie des systèmes

Appliqué à l’ingénierie système, SQUORE devient le tableau de bord ultime des équipes projets, capable de restituer en continu la vision centralisée des 3 dimensions du pilotage de la performance d’un programme :
• Respect des plannings
• Respects des budgets
• Qualité du système développé

En fournissant le détail et la tendance des indicateurs contribuant à ces 3 visions, SQUORE favorise la prise d’actions : les compromis entre coûts, calendrier et objectifs techniques sont optimisés et justifiés par des données objectives. La solution SQUORE pour la performance de l’Ingénierie des systèmes se base sur des concepts et des standards internationaux :
• SEI : CMMI Capability Maturity Model Integration
• ISO/IEC 15939 Ingénierie des systèmes et du logiciel — Processus de mesure
• ISO/IEC 15288 Ingénierie des systèmes et du logiciel — Processus du cycle de vie du système
et surtout sur le Guide des Indicateurs avancés de l’Ingénierie Système (SE Leading Indicators Guide) publié par l’International Council on System Engineering INCOSE v2 de 2010.

Qu’est-ce qu’un Indicateur avancé pour l’Ingénierie Système ?

Un indicateur avancé d’IS est une mesure permettant d’évaluer l’efficacité d’une activité projet afin d’en déduire des informations renseignant sur la performance du système en cours de développement (selon le “Systems Engineering Measurement Primer” publié par l’INCOSE en 2010). L’indicateur avancé peut être une mesure individuelle, ou un ensemble de mesures dont l’analyse de la tendance permet de prédire des comportements futurs.
Par exemple, si le taux de validation des exigences est de 20% à quelques jours de la revue des exigences fonctionnelles alors que leur volatilité est supérieure à 50%, il conviendra alors de reprogrammer immédiatement cette revue afin d’éviter une inévitable répétition de cette étape (impact sur les délais) ou de renforcer les équipes pour respecter le planning (impact sur les couts).
L’INCOSE recommande en outre que la collecte des données permettant la production des SELI (System Engineering Leading Indicators) soit régulière (à minima mensuelle, plus fréquente en phase critique) et exhaustive, la mise en place d’un système automatisé et centralisé est donc indispensable.

Solution

La solution SQUORE Ingénierie des systèmes implémente les Indicateurs avancés de l’INCOSE :

Uniques capacités de Double « drill-down » et de filtres permettant
> de zoomer sur la performance un agrégat ou d’un item appartenant à une hiérarchie d’artéfacts produits par les processus d’IS (exigences, tests, CR/PR, modèles, applications, documentation, revue, couts, …) pour isoler immédiatement une non-conformité, une régression (exigence ambiguë, diagramme d’architecture hors norme, demande de changement non close, dérives des budgets …)
> OU de zoomer sur un indicateur (ou sur une composition d’indicateurs) pour comprendre et évaluer « comment une activité projet est susceptible d’affecter l’objectif de performance du système ». Par exemple, comment la Volatilité des Exigences est susceptible affecter la Capacité Fonctionnelle.
Modèles d’analyse s’appuyant sur les standards de l’industrie (SQuaRE 2510, INCOSE SE Leading Indicators Guide,…), permettant de suivre les progrès /ou la performance de portefeuille de projets sur des bases identiques, périodiquement ou selon des étapes clés.
Prise de décision facilitée grâce à une interface graphique orientée rôle, et à des graphes adaptables aux pratiques en place ou souhaitées dans les organisations.
Génération de plans d’actions et de remédiation selon des règles et des valeurs de déclencheurs prédéfinis.
Capitalisation des données des projets pour corréler des attributs (complétude des tests par exemple) avec la caractéristique externe (par exemple fiabilité) pour affiner les modèles permettant l’analyse prédictive et donc le pilotage des projets.